‘...promotes research on human development all over the world...’
ISSBD - Awards

ISSBD Awards

Call for ISSBD Award nominations – the deadline has been moved to JUNE 15th 2016! Please click here for more details.

From 2004, ISSBD instigated a series of awards to scholars in the field of behavioral development. ISSBD grants up to four awards at their Biennial Meetings and the Awards Committee is chaired by Professor Silvia Koller. The four awards are as follows:

(1) ISSBD Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award: honors a single individual who has made distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research, student training, and other scholarly endeavors in Behavioral Development. Evaluations are based on the scientific merit of the individual's work, and the significance of this work for generating new empirical or theoretical areas in the study of Behavioral Development.

(2) ISSBD Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Behavioral Development Theory and Research: honors researchers who have made distinguished theoretical or empirical advances in Behavioral Development leading to the understanding or amelioration of important practical problems. The award is for an individual whose work has contributed not only to the science of Behavioral Development, but who has also worked to the benefit of the application of science to society. The individual's contributions may have been made through advocacy, direct service, influencing public policy or education, or through any other routes that enable the science of Behavioral Development to improve the welfare of children and/or adults, and/or families.

(3) ISSBD Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Research and Theory in Behavioural Development: honors distinguished and enduring lifetime contributors to international cooperation and advancement of knowledge.

(4) ISSBD Young Scientist Award: recognizes an early career scientist who has made a distinguished theoretical contribution to the study of Behavioral Development, has conducted programmatic research of distinction, or has made a distinguished contribution to the dissemination of developmental science. The award is for continued efforts rather than a single outstanding work. Scientists who are within seven years of completion of the doctoral degree are eligible.

ISSBD Awards 2014

The following scientists were selected as awardees at the 23rd ISSBD Biennial Meeting, Shanghai, China:

(1) ISSBD Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award:

AWARDEE: Dr. Christopher K. Hertzog of Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta Georgia, (USA).

(2) ISSBD Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Behavioral Development Theory and Research:

AWARDEE: Prof. Heidi Keller, Professor at the Faculty of Humans Sciences at the Osnabrück University (Germany)

(4) ISSBD Young Scientist Award:

AWARDED: Dr. Loes Keijsers, Utrecht University, Utrecht (The Netherlands)

AWARDED: Dr. Jelle Sijtsema,Tilburg University, Groningen (The Netherlands)

The 2014 committee included Toni C. Antonucci (chair), University of Michigan, USA; Avi Sagi, University of Haifa, Israel; Jeanette Lawrence, University of Melbourne, Australia; and Julie C Bowker, University of Buffalo (young scientist member).



Most Read
Most Cited